What is a good concealed carry?

Discussion in 'Concealed Carry' started by fredandbarry, Feb 5, 2010.

1. fredandbarry

fredandbarry New Member

I am currently doing some research on concealed-carry weapons. I am rather new to shooting and guns in general, but I desperately want to learn! I figure that a sawed-off shotgun is probably not the best concealed-carry weapon, but I think that a hand gun would be.

2. judgeparker

judgeparker Well-Known Member

Hi Fred My best advice is to find a local shooting range that rents guns and to try several. Hand guns are like clothes the pants that fit me may not fit you. Find one that is comfortable good quality and reliable and don't rule out a revolver. I have several of both semi auto and revolver handguns and it depends on the circumstances as to what I carry. Caliber wise do not go under a 9mm or 38 special. Do not forget after you make your purchase buy lots of ammo and practice, practice, practice. Also remember All guns are always loaded so never point that gun at anything you are not willing to destroy. This forum is a great source and its members have years of experience and a wealth of information. Have fun and be safe.

3. Windward45acp

Windward45acp Member

Fred, Judge has good advice. Go try some out. I like my Kimber Ultra CDP II 45 for a CC. But I have friends who would never carry a 1911 since it is single action. They all carry Glocks. But I'm a firm believer a gun has to excite you too, not just function correctly. Good luck, you will find the gun for you.

4. dsclaiborne31

dsclaiborne31 Well-Known Member