lever action 22, which is better

Discussion in 'Rifles' started by dirtdobber, May 21, 2007.

1. dirtdobber

dirtdobber New Member

I am a farmer looking to purchase a 22 rifle for popping gophers (small prairie dogs). I want to purchase a lever action 22 and have narrowed my options down to three models. The Marlin 39A, Henry H001, and the Taurus model 62. I know the marlin stands way above the other two on all reviews but the price for that nice looking gun is more than I want to pay. I just need good accuracy and mechanics, not fancy stocks or scroll work, or nice woods, etc. Just something to plug away with that won't piss me off with errant patterns, or faulty craftsmanship. Can I get these two requirements from the Taurus or the Henry? Has anyone on here shot a Taurus or a Henry and have any experiences that will help me choose? Your input would be greatly appreciated.

2. agonist

agonist Well-Known Member

The affordable Henry's have some plastic parts. The Taurus' I've seen and held seem to be well made but I haven't shot one. I've got a Marlin 39a carbine (20in. barrel) and I love it. It's a tack driver, very well made, parts are easy to come by if you ever need maintenance(which you probably won't). The micro-groove barrel will never wear out with the .22. My advice is to try to find a decent used one. They last forever if they're cared for. I've seen 80yr. old specimens that had been used for generations and reasonably cared for that were in great functioning shape. For real work go with the standard 24in. barrel.

If you simply can't find one in good shape for a decent price I think the Taurus is a more solid option. They're also available in stainless so mucking around would cause less of a rust issue.

3. DADDYMONSTER

DADDYMONSTER Well-Known Member

I gotta say that my choice would probably be the henry only cause i like the old nastalja look of them(western movie buff), Plus the fact that have really good reviews count too.