>
Board Index Serious Shooters Military & Police

Help with firearm selection for police force

Discuss assualt and tactical techniques, law enforcement, militia, and other combat and security topics.

Help with firearm selection for police force

Postby Elacher10 » Fri Aug 13, 2010 1:13 am

So I am new to firearms. I have shot a few pistols. Recently a Glock 17 and 40 along with my grandma's 357 magnum. I was just accepted into a police academy and I need to purchase my own firearm. Everyone tells me to go with a Glock. The recoil on the 40 was a bit much and the 17 and 40 feel top heavy cause of the poly handle. So if anyone could give me some insight on what would be the best firearm to buy, I would really appreciate it.
Elacher10

Postby BrianB » Fri Aug 13, 2010 1:49 am

When you say "everyone tells me" who is everyone? Is this what the academy told you? Do they have a certain guideline as to what they want you to get?
BrianB

Postby Elacher10 » Fri Aug 13, 2010 2:08 am

We are required to have a semi-auto pistol that is either 9mm 40 or 45 caliber. Couple people at work who are familiar with law enforcement talk highly of the glock. I shot the 17 which wasn't that bad. It just feels top heavy. I have been reading up on the Baretta 92-f.
Elacher10

Postby BrianB » Fri Aug 13, 2010 6:39 am

Beretta seems to make very good guns. I do not have one but did recently do some firing of a PX4 Storm .40 and it seemed very smooth and well balanced with very little felt recoil.

There are several good manufactures out there that should be fine. I would probably look towards either Beretta, Springfield arms or Glock probably, just to keep it simple but there are many others and lots that are higher end than those I have mentioned. What kind of budget do you have to work with?
BrianB

Postby GOANRA » Fri Aug 13, 2010 11:48 am

Before retiring from LE, I carried many sidearms for a few agencies, County/State/Fed.