>
Board Index Wield Your Weapon Shotguns

Browning BT-99 Reviews

Discuss and review the most versatile firearm available.

Browning BT-99 Reviews

Postby Trapshoot » Sat Apr 14, 2007 12:12 pm

I've been shooting a BT-99 with the adjustable comb for 4 years. It's a well built nice shooting single barrel break open trap gun. It does shoot a bit 'flat'. I had a Gra-Coil recoil reducer installed and the 'kick' is minimal. It a rather popular gun at the local trap club - see lots of them in use. It's manufactured in Japan, not Belgium. Sportsman's Warehouse has very good prices on this gun. It's a very good buy for someone that want a single barrel gun for shooting trap.
Trapshoot

Postby JustBen » Sat May 29, 2010 6:37 pm

In the process of buying one of these for trap shooting. Does not have a barrel set up for chokes though. Only one pattern which seems to be pretty decent though, (ie: not to large) and I shoot pretty well with it.

Anyone have any advice on buying a gun for trap shooting that does not have chokes ?
JustBen

Postby tigwelder56 » Sat May 29, 2010 7:24 pm

I helped run the US Navy Skeet and Trap Club in Subic Bay, Philippines. We had two shotgun models available. They were the Remington 870 Wingmaster and the Remington 1100. We had open cylinder and full choke models. I won several competitions with my 1100 and loved it. I didn't care for the 870 in Skeet competitions but it served me well for Trap. I would choose the 1100 over the 870 everytime. It's an excellent shotgun.
NRA Life Member GOA Member
NAGR Member DAV Life Member Oathkeepers Member
Help Save America, have your liberal spayed or neutered!

Democracy is two wolves and one sheep voting on what to have for dinner. Liberty is one well armed sheep contesting the vote! --The Sheep
tigwelder56

Postby GOANRA » Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:54 pm

JustBen, I shot competition high-speed-trap for years. The dept issued us the Rem 870 with IC only.