>
Board Index Wield Your Weapon Gun Chatter

Question from a gun novice

General discussion and chatter about firearms and weapons only.

Question from a gun novice

Postby georgecostanza » Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:23 pm

Hi guys. I have been looking at purchasing a gun despite knowing relatively nothing about firearms. Despite never shooting a real gun, I think a purchase might be in my future. Being a college student I am on a very limited budget. Also, the neighborhood I reside in has a slight history of muggings and robberies. I basically want a gun just in case something goes wrong. College kids are obviously easy targets due to vulnerability, etc. My original thoughts were that I would like to buy something that could serve multiple purposes, such as home defense and to carry in my car. Concealed carry isn't a priority, but might come in handy at some point. At first I thought a subcompact such as the G26 or Springfield XD Subcompact would cover all of these areas despite their price. I realize they aren't top of the line, but seem to be reliable and respected firearms. The more I have been thinking about it (and my budget has dwindled as my summer job soon ends) I got the idea that a .22 might be a decent option. I realize there certainly is a firepower issue, but I feel as though the caliber would be acceptable, but obviously not ideal. It would allow me to learn to shoot and gradually learn more about the world of firearms, while providing more protection than no gun at all. After this realization, I was thinking about investing in a Ruger MK III or 22/45. First, I was curious as to what you guys thought about these thoughts, and ask for any advice you might deem helpful. Thanks in advance, fellas.
georgecostanza

Postby neverenough » Tue Aug 03, 2010 12:18 pm