>
Board Index Getting Started Buying/Selling

Buying a gun from FFL

Discuss buyers or sellers from the classifieds section, post gun-related ads, or any other commercial firearm discussions.

Buying a gun from FFL

Postby xxghettofab916xx » Thu Jun 21, 2007 12:54 am

i have a question can i buy a gun from a FFL dealer without having gotten traing or any kind of certificate?
xxghettofab916xx
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:01 pm

Postby droberts » Sat Jun 23, 2007 5:04 pm

You need to check your state law, I'm in Alabama & they just do a background check , Then you walk out with it
droberts
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun May 20, 2007 12:30 am

Postby tigwelder56 » Sat Jun 23, 2007 11:35 pm

California, the Socialistic Republic of; is one of the most restrictive states in the Union regarding firearm laws. I'll provide you with enough information to convince you that you should move to another state! Your question regarding the need for training before purchase is a big YES. This is how it's written:



California - State law requires handgun buyers to go through safety training as part of obtaining a handgun license prior to buying a handgun. The safety training involves passing a written test on handgun safety and gun laws and a hands-on demonstration that the buyer can properly operate the handguns safety features such as any locks or firing safeties.



California - State law requires a 10-day waiting period for all gun sales. This 10-day period is used by law enforcement to run a criminal background check to make sure the gun buyer is not prohibited from acquiring firearms. The 10-days also serves as a "cooling off" period to help prevent crimes of passion.



California - State law only requires registration of assault weapons. No state requirement that other firearms be registered. Police do not known how many guns are in the state or where they are. The lack of registration makes it difficult for police to trace guns used in crime, identify illegal gun traffickers or hold gun owners accountable for the illegal use of their weapons. State law enforcement has kept records on handgun transfers (not rifles or shotguns) since 1990, but there is no way of knowing whether the buyers still have those handguns - there is no requirement for reporting of lost or stolen guns. The state does compare the existing handgun sale records with recent criminal convictions to identify gun owners who are no longer allowed to possess handguns. Also see: Record Keeping.



California - State law requires handgun buyers to obtain a "handgun safety certificate" (like a license) prior to purchasing a handgun. The handgun buyer must pass a written safety test and a hands-on safety demonstration and provide fingerprints and proof of residency. The certificate is also required for anyone who wishes to be "loaned" a handgun outside of the presence of the owner.



Hopefully this will provide you with the information you were wondering about. You live in a very restrictive state that doesn't concern itself with recognizing the rights of the law abiding citizens. As long as California is dominated by the gang of mad dog liberals it's only going to get worse.
NRA Life Member GOA Member
NAGR Member DAV Life Member Oathkeepers Member
Help Save America, have your liberal spayed or neutered!

Democracy is two wolves and one sheep voting on what to have for dinner. Liberty is one well armed sheep contesting the vote! --The Sheep
User avatar
tigwelder56
 
Posts: 5387
Joined: Mon Jul 03, 2006 6:24 pm
Location: Southwest Florida


Return to Buying/Selling

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron